Gender Reveal Photo Recap

10 Oct

Because pictures are worth a thousand words, I thought it would be better to share a few of my favorite photos instead of posting a lengthy, wordy blog about the day. I included my sources for inspiration at the bottom. And if you missed my earlier post that included a video of the reveal that can be seen here.

Dessert Bar

 

Team Boy or Team Girl?

 

Blue icing was stuffed in the middle

 

Blue Moon to represent Boy. Leinenkugel Berry Weiss to represent Girl.

 

Some of the guests showing off their guess

 

The box that hid the balloons (who knew the hot water heater box from May would come in handy?)

 

It's a Boy!

 

Floating Away

 

Eric & I with our excited parents and grandparents (or should I say excited soon-to-be grandparents & great-grandparents!)

 

Fun with Friends

 

Banjo is already such a proud big brother! (or incredibly scared because he can't figure out why the balloons keep following him)

 

Ready to test drive this parenting gig

 
Sources (If I found the idea online I included the link):
 
Menu:
Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Dip w/ pretzels & animal crackers
Baked Brie & Crackers: I mixed dried cranberries, honey & pecans. Poured it over the top & baked it for 20 min at 400 degrees
Cupcakes: “Fun in Da Middle” box mix (I found them at Kroger) w/ funfetti icing
Shortbread bottle & pacifier shape icing cookies: Made courtesy of Aunt Jill & Great Aunt Mary – sorry, secret family recipe
Lemon Bars: Krusteaz brand box mix from Kroger
 
Decor/Theme:
Bunting: Self-made w/ extra scrapbook paper, yarn & sponge stamps I already had
Chalkboard Signs on Dessert Bar: $1 picture frames from the Dollar Store. Spray painted the glass with chalkboard paint & the frame with yellow spray paint. (I actually already had these on hand from something else & didn’t make them just for the party.)
Cupcakes Liners: A kit from Michael’s Craft Store
Mustache & Lips Gender Guess: It was a play on this idea
Balloon Box: Quilt was an heirloom passed down from Eric’s Aunt. Bought black posterboard, cut it in a heart & wrote “Boy or Girl” in chalk in front.
Balloons: Purchased at our local Factory Card & Party Outlet
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

2 Responses to “Gender Reveal Photo Recap”

  1. AmoebaMike October 17, 2011 at 7:07 pm #

    Wow you guys really go all out! Impressed at it all. 🙂

    • Melissa October 17, 2011 at 8:45 pm #

      Thanks! It was a great day!

Leave a comment