“Positive”-ly Happy

2 Aug

May 30th (Memorial Day) I took the test honestly not thinking or having any feeling that it was going to say positive. In fact, the only reason I took the test was because I was leaving for Italy four days later and figured in the slim-chance I was pregnant I wanted to know if it was ok for me to drink wine or not (priorities people!) So unfortunately during my first trip to Italy I was not able to drink wine – but I was definitely more than ok with my excuse!

I took the test in the evening after a weekend of hosting out-of-town friends and family for the Indy 500. I didn’t even tell Eric what I was in the bathroom doing because again, I really thought I wasn’t pregnant yet. Upon seeing the word “pregnant,” I squinted harder and held it closer to make sure the word “not” was really not there fading in the background. After staring in shock for a few moments I walked into our bedroom where Eric was turning down our covers and go, “Well, I guess you were right. I’m pregnant!” He immediately grabbed the test and looked at it like I had done then gave me a happy embrace, with a sarcastic, “I told you so!”

Flashback to why Eric had a  hunch I was pregnant when I did not:

So I’m a pretty even keeled person. I don’t really get bent out of shape about things or fly off my rocker. Eric and I are lucky to barely ever argue, or when we do it’s more of a discussion and then we move on. Friday night of Memorial Weekend, like I mentioned before, we had friends in town. My friend Angie, whom I’ve known since middle school, came to visit and so like school girls we decided to have a slumber party and kick Eric out of our bedroom. Eric and I had recently re-done a room in the basement to house all my craft/knitting supplies and I had bought a new futon cover so I warned Eric several times throughout the evening to please let someone else, anyone else besides him, to sleep on it. Because I knew if Eric slept on it then our dogs would sleep on it and I didn’t want dirty dog hair all over my new cover. Fast forward to the morning. I walk downstairs and see Eric and Knuckles curled up on said futon. Saying I was fuming was an understatement – especially since I exposed the Wrath of Mel in front of company. I sorta totally flipped out over a cheap IKEA futon cover because of a few measly hairs (well actually in my defense I was more upset that I had asked him to not sleep on it and he did, rather than the fact there was dog hair on it). So after my ranting and raving the only thing Eric could say was, “Are you pregnant or something?” – which by the way is not what you say to someone when they are upset whether you really think they are pregnant or not because that definitely did not make the situation better at the time. I of course told him “no” without even wondering if it was true and stormed back upstairs to cool off and eventually we got on with our day and our weekend, until Monday night when I took the test and found out that annoyingly enough maybe Eric did know what he was talking about.

Now at twelve weeks and some days along we’re excited to share this journey through our blog and photos and FINALLY tell friends and family the happy news. We of course couldn’t keep the news away from Knuckles & Banjo for more than 5 minutes and here are some photos to show how happy they were to find out they were becoming big brothers! (You can bet, this is just a taste of the cheesy photos to come the next 28wks)

6 Responses to ““Positive”-ly Happy”

  1. Michele Coffey August 2, 2011 at 1:26 am #

    So I anxiously read your post or story of events from Memorial weekend. And then I panned down the screen to the photos of Knuckles and Banjo and won’t you know that I laughed out loud at the pictures. I got the biggest kick out of them.

    Very happy for you and Eric. Congratulations!

    • Melissa Mattingly August 2, 2011 at 1:38 am #

      Yea, haha, given how I treat our dogs, the baby and my camera don’t stand a chance!

  2. ellesquare August 2, 2011 at 7:22 pm #

    i love you.

  3. Diana Walpole August 3, 2011 at 1:33 am #

    Dad and I are looking forward to being a part of this journey through your blog when we can’t be together. This is so awesome…I’m still bursting at the seams with excitement! I can tell Knuckles and Banjo are excited about the new upcoming arrival! Gotta love them…and we love you all!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Q & A « Family Mattos - August 17, 2011

    […] we were ready for round 2 and were taken completely by surprise when we were blessed with another positive pregnancy test in our hands on May 30th! Talk about your quick […]

  2. 365 Days Later « Family Mattos - May 30, 2012

    […] One year ago, this happened: […]

Leave a Reply

