8 Weeks & Baby Bump Picture Rundown

4 Aug

My name is Melissa and I’m addicted to Pinterest.

I always knew I wanted to take monthly photos of my bump as it progresses and Pinterest makes life much easier as I browse the interwebs for ideas. So anytime I came across an idea that someone else had to capture their bump I made sure to pin it to my “Photography Ideas” folder. After much browsing and pinning I found my inspiration:

I loved the simpleness of the background. How she was wearing a dress that would grow with her and not a tank top & yoga pants like a lot of moms-to-be seem to wear in their monthly photos – not there is anything wrong with wearing that, it’s just since I’ll probably be wearing a tank top and yoga pants most of my pregnancy, it would be nice to be fancy once a month. Plus when baby looks back I dont want him or her to be like, “wow mom. woof.” Finally, I liked the subtle way she incorporated the seasons or time of year so even though you don’t know the exact date you can tell that she was probably due in spring. Well and it should go without saying I love that she included her dogs. Done and done.

So I went and bought a dress and spray painted the glass on a dollar store picture frame with chalkboard paint and attached a yarn handle for my sign. I also decided I wanted my pictures to be taken outside in front of our fence. It’s much better lighting for photography and the dress I picked out can easily be worn with stretch pants and even a long sleeve shirt once it gets cold. When I told Eric my idea he slightly shook his head, but baby mama gets what baby mama wants. So I started my monthly tradition at 8wks – which fell on July 1st and gave it a whirl  (after making a flag out of scrapbook paper and a kabob stick to reference Independence Day of course). I also think I’m going to keep my photos in black & white to give each photo a little more consistency – especially since lighting outside fluctuates at different points of the year, time of day, etc – plus, I’m a sucker for anything that looks vintage. So here she blows:

Needless to say I don’t have a bump yet, sorry to bring you this far just to let you down. Obviously at the time of blogging this I am now almost 13 weeks along and therefore have a 12 weeks photo that will be coming to a post near you soon.

Stay fresh and clean people. It’s hot out there. Peace.

13 Responses to “8 Weeks & Baby Bump Picture Rundown”

  1. Marie Godfrey August 4, 2011 at 6:22 pm #

    Good luck with your bump journal – they will be precious memories. One day you have your baby and then, in the blink of an eye, you have a 19 year old woman/man back from college. (My baby is a 19 year old man back from his first year at university!) The time goes so quickly and taking photographs freezes it, even if only for a second.

    • Melissa Mattingly August 4, 2011 at 6:48 pm #

      You’re right! I don’t think I ever leave home without my camera because you never know when you might want to hold onto something for a little longer. Thanks for reading!

  2. Amy Jones Jackson August 4, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

    Thanks a lot, Melissa. Like I needed another blog to stalk! Congratulations and you are incredibly cute! Love the bump picture idea, too!

    • Melissa Mattingly August 5, 2011 at 12:16 pm #

      I know! It probably takes me at least an hour every day to catch up on all the blogs I follow, haha. Happy (belated) 1 year Anniversary to you by the way!

  3. Diana Walpole August 4, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

    I very much love your creativity and am looking forward to being a part of your journey from my computer! You make me smile 🙂 I love you and think of you every day. Love, Mom

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 16 Weeks « Family Mattos - September 10, 2011

    […] case you missed previous baby bump pics: 8wks, 12wks Eco World Content From Across The Internet. Featured on EcoPressed Google reveals […]

  2. 18 Weeks « Family Mattos - September 10, 2011

    […] bumps pics: 8wks, 12wks, 16wks Eco World Content From Across The Internet. Featured on EcoPressed Google […]

  3. 20 Weeks & “Guess the Gender” Poll « Family Mattos - September 26, 2011

    […] bump pics: 8 wks, 12wks, 16wks, 18wks Eco World Content From Across The Internet. Featured on EcoPressed […]

  4. 24 Weeks « Family Mattos - October 27, 2011

    […] Bump Pics: 8wks, 12wks, 16wks, 18wks, 20wks, 21wks LD_AddCustomAttr(“AdOpt”, “1”); LD_AddCustomAttr(“Origin”, […]

  5. 27 Weeks « Family Mattos - November 12, 2011

    […] bump pics: 8wks, 12wks, 16wks, 18wks, 20wks, 21wks, 24wks GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); […]

  6. 30 Weeks « Family Mattos - December 7, 2011

    […] Bump Pics: 8wks, 12wks, 16wks, 18wks, 20wks, 21wks, 24wks, 27wks GA_googleAddAttr(“AdOpt”, “1”); […]

  7. 32 Weeks « Family Mattos - January 2, 2012

    […] Bump Pics: 8wks, 12wks, 16wks, 20wks, 21wks, 24wks, 27wks, 30wks GA_googleAddAttr(“AdOpt”, “1”); […]

  8. Mini Matto 2.0 « Family Mattos - February 18, 2013

    […] the dress is back! I debated whether to wear the same dress or not but I thought it would be fun to really be able to compare this pregnancy to Parker’s. […]

Leave a Reply

