A Few Thoughts from Dad

21 Aug

Well, I guess my wife was right in the fact that I am 1/2 as responsible for the reason behind this blog so I better get my sorry butt in line and start posting.  Unfortunately, I can’t use the patented ‘I hate writing excuse’ since we both received English degrees from the same university…I knew that would come back to haunt me somehow, someday!

I was thinking about how I would introduce myself to the blogosphere, more importantly this specific realm, and I thought what better way than to attack a few of the emotions that I am harboring through this process.  You hear so much about how a woman feels through her pregnancy…don’t get me wrong, I am not downplaying the severity of hormonal changes and a life form growing inside of you….I am simply saying that my mind is racing, too.

EXCITEMENT
I am a 27-year-old kid and now I get to have a kid myself.  Everytime we drive by a Toys-R-Us or a Chuck E. Cheese I quietly think to myself how awesome it is going to be to get to go to those places again.  Disney World…book it!  Playground…done!  Playdates…we will tear those things up.  Playdates will never be the same.  Having a kid may not be all Sand Castles and Awesomeness all the time, but that doesn’t mean me and my offspring can’t rock out those times when they roll around!

NERVOUSNESS
Do you know the feeling you get right after you walk out of an important job interview?  You think, man I wish I would have said that different, or why in the hell did I wear that stupid tie.  You analyze every little question to the very microscopic depth of its meaning to the point that not one single answer you gave sounds remotely close to being right.  The tension, that terror is what I go through everyday of this pregnancy.  Did we do everything right?  Is Mel eating the right foods?  Should I have taken more vitamins as a kid?  Do you think that 20th shot on my 21st birthday will stunt his/her growth?  Will they ever make ‘Alf:  The Movie’ and do you think they just made “Saved by the Bell: The College Years” so Kelly and Zach would get married?  I don’t care whether we have a healthy baby boy or a healthy baby girl, I just pray we have a healthy baby!

FEAR
That’s right, fear.  I think if any dad says he wasn’t a tad afraid of the road ahead then I think they are kidding you.  There are no parental roadmaps and I will always have a little fear about making the right decision for my child, but thankfully I have an amazing family to show me a few detours and shortcuts to help me along the way.

FINALLY…ANTICIPATION
Well, of course!  I can’t wait till February, but I will enjoy the ride to get there.  I have never been huge on picking out room decorations, clothes, or window treatments, but suddenly it doesn’t sound all that bad…don’t tell my wife I said that!

6 Responses to “A Few Thoughts from Dad”

  1. Ellesquare August 21, 2011 at 10:44 pm #

    (grinning)

  2. Jill August 22, 2011 at 2:10 pm #

    I love you Eric! You’ll be an amazing dad! Love, your big sis

  3. Lindsay August 23, 2011 at 11:25 am #

    So great! I love it! You are going to be an excellent father!

  4. AmoebaMike August 23, 2011 at 11:51 am #

    I recently had the thought that it’s going to be a long road until we know if we’ll have had a successful pregnancy. March is so far away. So many things can happen between now and then. Or could have already happened. Or could happen during delivery. Then I realized, just because the kid comes out healthy doesn’t mean it’s over. I now have to be worried for the rest of my life.

    I guess, I suppose, Probably, when the kid is like 25 I don’t have to worry too much about it… but for goodness sake, certainly at least for a couple decades, I’m going to be worried.

    Ugh, it’s too exhausting…

    • Diana Walpole August 23, 2011 at 4:41 pm #

      Having a baby is one of the greatest journeys in life. You are going to be a great dad. We all doubt ourselves when making decisions about our childrens lives, was it the right thing..or maybe I should have done it different…but thats part of the whole process. You’ll find that you will question yourself many times through out the parenting years. But this baby has the best of the best! You and Melissa are going to be awesome parents!! We, as grandparents, are looking so forward to this new little person coming into our lives and seeing how you and Melissa have become such great adults from being little kids yourselves not so long ago! Thank you for being the person that you are, you’re so wonderful to our daughter and are going to make an awesome daddy! Love you, Mom and Dad Walpole

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Just a Little Story I’d Like to Tell « Family Mattos - August 30, 2011

    […] do.  Would I have the… “balls”…to freeze my balls off like that?  I thought about what I wrote last week…about being afraid of the things that I could do wrong.   Strangely, I began to feel a little […]

Leave a Reply

