Storybook Shower

21 Nov

This past weekend my mom hosted my first shower. She invited family from our side as well as family friends and some of my friends that I grew up and went to school with. Since Eric and I were both English majors in college and since reading has always been a big part of my life my mom decided to make it a “storybook” theme. From the food to the decor she made sure everything tied together perfectly.

In lieu of a greeting card she asked guests to bring a children’s book. We’re so excited to see Parker’s book collection grow! Reading is very important to us and we can’t wait for all our future nights of storytime. Once I got home I loved going through each books and reading the sweet messages from everyone.

Parker made out with so many great and thoughtful gifts! When I got home and hung up all the clothes Eric was like, “seriously!?” – because I still have two more showers! One thing I know for sure is that Parker will never go naked! Maybe now is a good time to say if you are coming to one of my future showers – we are all set on newborn to 3 month sleepers, haha! But seriously, how come the smaller the clothes are the cuter they get?
 
 
 
 
The doll furniture my mom used as decor in this picture was mine when I was little. I don’t think we’ll be passing that down to Parker, but maybe there will be a female Mini Matto in the future I can give it to!

Thanks again to my mom for throwing such a perfect party. It was very much appreciated and I think everyone left with a smile and full stomach! We are grateful for everything we received and now all that is missing is the baby!
Newborn pictures of Eric and I
 
Another thank you to my car buddy for the weekend! He was such a great sport as I rocked out to country music and gabbed about life. Love you Banjo!
 
 
4 Responses to “Storybook Shower”

  1. Diana Walpole November 26, 2011 at 6:43 pm #

    If I’m enjoying all of this this much now….can you imagine how I’m going to be when little Parker arrives? 11 weeks to go, and counting!!! 🙂

  2. belinda March 17, 2013 at 6:42 pm #

    What a fortunate child to enter a family so loving!

    • Melissa March 17, 2013 at 7:29 pm #

      Thanks so much! We’re very blessed.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Countdown to One! « Family Mattos - January 20, 2013

    […] how Eric and I were both English majors and love books and how 2 of my baby showers incorporated a storybook theme so it only made sense I carried that on. As I did further research on the book and party ideas, I […]

Leave a Reply

