Mattingly Family Christmas Card 2011

22 Dec

This is the front of our Christmas Card this year. I admittedly have issues when it comes to our yearly Christmas card – like start thinking about it before summer is over issues. I’m highly competitive with myself and probably definitely put way too much thought into a card that people hang for a week or two and then toss in the trash.  I can’t help it. I want our card to be one that people want to hang & show off, not  toss in a basket on a table. I had decided on the photo concept back in October when i saw these “I’m the Big Brother” dog shirts from Babawowo 40% off on a flash sale on fab.com.  The dogs will definitely be sporting them again the day we bring Parker home from the hospital and probably for our newborn photo shoot as well.  Here is the inside of the card:

Last year I started the tradition of including a highlight of the years big events so I knew I wanted to find a card that allowed for that again. I’m also a member of the flash sale site zulily.com (yes, my inbox receives LOTS of emails due to my flash sale site addiction) which concentrates on items for babies, children and mommas. Peartree Greetings was offering a $40 voucher for $20 and after browsing their site and seeing they had many timeline-type Christmas cards to choose from I bit the bullet and bought the voucher.  I was so happy with their customer service and quality. The first time I received my cards in the mail they accidentally printed the inside upside down and so I immediately went online where they offer live chat and within minutes they had apologized and had a new order on its way. I’m already considering using them again for our newborn announcements. They have so many great options! We went with the Christmas Tales – Vertical Recycled Photo Chrismas Card. Here is a zoomed out view of the inside so you can get a better idea of the layout.

Now as for taking the photo, I originally intended to do it outside but we had hit a rainy weather streak and frankly the dogs get more distracted (and dirty) outside. So I decided to do it in the nursery in front of the chevron wall I painted. I set up our tripod and crossed my fingers the dogs would behave. The best part about not having our faces in the photo (besides not giving a care in the world what our faces looked like when taking a picture for once) was that Eric could hold a treat between his teeth. That was all it took. As soon as they saw the treat they immediately sat down and focused on the prize while I was able to mold them in whatever position I wanted. It was kinda unreal how much they did not care that I was moving their tail so they weren’t sitting on it, straightening their shirts, arranging the stance of their paws and scooting them close to each other while centering them between Eric and I.  I would then go and hit the timer and run to position in front of Eric.  Honestly the only reason it took about 5 takes was because of me having to run back and forth. I would either forget to straighten my own shirt or stand a few inches off so the dogs didn’t look centered. But as long as the dogs got a treat inbetween takes they were good to go all night I think.

Needless to say Parker is going to be in for his own treat next year when he’ll actually be around (and more than 10 months old!) to show his face for the chaos of mommy creating the Annual Mattingly Christmas Card.

And thank you to everyone that we have received a Christmas card from! Our card clothes line is actually much fuller than when this photo was taken, but we appreciate and feel all the holiday love!

2 Responses to “Mattingly Family Christmas Card 2011”

  1. vina January 8, 2012 at 9:39 am #

    congrats! love the pic 🙂

    • Melissa January 9, 2012 at 2:14 pm #

      Thanks! Glad I found your dog shirts. They are too cute! Need to get a “I’m the little brother” for the baby now!

Leave a Reply

