Birthday Tribute to Banjo

24 Jan

Today is your birthday! Can’t believe it was two years ago this March when I drove you as a little furball in a laundry basket home, just 6 weeks old. I would have never adopted you if it wasn’t for this girl and her want of a puppy and how cool we thought it would be to raise siblings that still get to hang out and play together. Eric and I already had Knuckles and had discussed another dog, but didn’t think anything would actually happen until we had another home with a bigger yard. But then Craigslist gave me the best thing it ever could – you!

20120124-214635.jpg

20120124-214647.jpg

A family had rescued a stray (your mama!) not knowing she was pregnant and after the birth of 11 puppies they put an ad on Craigslist selling you and your siblings for only $20 (don’t worry I would have paid more). Whomever wasn’t bought would be sent to the Humane Society. I have lots of love for the Humane Society and how they try their best to find homes for animals, however I’m glad you never had to make it to that step. Something you may not know is that I actually almost never had you. Even though I put my “claim” on you to the Craigslist lady, her husband accidentally promised you to someone else after me. The person he promised you to was a mother and her son with special needs. Apparently when they visited to pick out a puppy, they did some type of sensory test on each of the puppies and you were the only one that reacted in such a way that she thought you would be trainable as her sons special needs dog. The Craigslist lady felt horrible turning me down even though I claimed you first, but she couldn’t tell “no” to that little boy and I of course told her not to worry that it just wasn’t meant to be and that I hoped the puppy would help the little boy in ways he needed. But a couple days later the Craigslist lady called me back and said the boy’s doctor said he wasn’t doing well enough to incorporate a dog in his life at this time. It would just be too overwhelming and so you were mine if I still wanted you – and of course I did! Although, I still think about that boy sometimes and I hope he eventually got himself a puppy. All boys deserve a puppy to love – and get dirty with.

20120124-215157.jpg

Also, I apologize for thinking you were part Australian Shepherd for the first few weeks we had you. That is until a stranger told Breena when she was walking Piper that our dogs were part Catahoula Leopard Dog. We definitely had to google the breed, never heard of it before, but lo and behold that is most definitely your heritage!

20120124-212638.jpg

You are the most cuddly dog I have ever met. You love to have your face buried in the couch cushions, under covers, in our neck, anywhere you can fit your little snout. You have never heard of anything called “personal space,” but luckily most of the time that is ok by us.

20120124-214021.jpg

20120124-214032.jpg

20120124-214041.jpg

20120124-214056.jpg

20120124-214106.jpg

You also have some serious hops. You have no fear when it comes to jumping and your favorite days are those spent at the pond where you can jump in over and over.

20120124-212431.jpg

20120124-214754.jpg

I can’t wait for you to no longer be the “baby” of the family and to help us welcome Parker to the world. How do I know you’re going to be a great big brother? Because these past two years you’ve let me do things to you like this without complaint (ok, without complaint as long as there was a treat involved)

20120124-213753.jpg

20120124-213838.jpg

20120124-213919.jpg

20120124-215023.jpg

I love you Banjo and I can’t wait to watch you snuggle with Parker – you’ll figure it out quickly that there is nothing better than the scent of fresh baby! Have a Happy Birthday buddy! Tonight you can sleep on our bed!

20120124-215715.jpg

One Response to “Birthday Tribute to Banjo”

  1. Lindsay Mattingly January 31, 2012 at 10:26 pm #

    Awww, this made me a little misty. 🙂

Leave a Reply

