The More You Know…

20 Mar

Have you ever learned something seemingly random, but then only a short time later (usually a few days, maybe a week) something occurs where that information becomes futile and you feel so lucky that you stored whatever tidbit it was away? For example, soon after Eric and I got engaged we went to a Home Show and at the show each booth has all these sign-ups where you can win home related things. As we were signing up and I saw Eric write down his cell number over and over the thought occurred to me that maybe I should memorize it. The only phone numbers engrained in my head at the time where mine, my parents and childhood friends pre cell phone era. So for whatever reason I made myself memorize it that day. Then later that week I was almost on empty and forced to get gas at a shady gas station. As luck would have it while I was pumping I locked everything inside my car (purse, keys, cell phone). I go inside the station and the attendant must have thought I looked trustworthy enough because she allowed me to use her cell and had I not memorized Eric’s number I would have been forced to call a locksmith and pay the high fee instead of him using his AAA and meeting me at the gas station.

Another such occurrence happened this week and I thought I would share in case this tidbit is useful to you too. My sister-in-law found out from her best friend that has two kids why onesies and other baby clothes have lapnecks. Have you ever thought about what their purpose is? Here is a picture below in case you didn’t even realize they were called “lapnecks” and have no idea what I’m talking about.

20120321-095600.jpg

Well besides maybe being a baby fashion statement I thought they were designed to fit easily over babies usually big, yet delicate heads. And while this may be true another, more important, reason is so when they have a diaper blow out or messy spit up session you don’t have to lift the onesie or shirt over their head. Instead the lapneck provides enough room so you can slide it down off their shoulders and thus not getting crap in their face & hair. Pretty genius if you ask me! So I stored that info away and as luck would have it we had our first major blow out yesterday. Through the diaper, through the onesie, through the shirt that was over the onesie and through the pants! Had I not learned about pulling both shirts down over his shoulders the clean up job would have been much messier than it already was. And much harder too since right after it happened Parker decided he was absolutely starving so he was screaming through all of this. Which is why he got to eat sans clothes shortly thereafter….

20120321-095736.jpg

Anyone else not know that bit of info? I really feel this is something they should have covered in our Newborn Basics class! Hope it helps someone out, after all it’s a good way to prevent pink eye πŸ™‚

4 Responses to “The More You Know…”

  1. Lindsey March 21, 2012 at 10:26 am #

    Brilliant!! I never knew this. My second baby is due at the end of September and will (I’m certain) benefit from this knowledge. Unfortunately my poor little first born suffered the wrath of the blow-out-ultra-mess. Never again!! Thank you.

  2. Chelsea M March 23, 2012 at 7:18 am #

    I had no idea! That would have saved a lot of stress at the daycare when I worked with the younger toddlers who are quite prone to blow outs! And it will of course come in handy now with Griffin! Benji actually just said something about one of the gowns and how it would go on easier up his body instead of over his head! Now I know, he could have tried it πŸ™‚

    • Melissa March 23, 2012 at 12:31 pm #

      Yup! Especially the first couple weeks after Parker was born I was so afraid of hurting his delicate head when I put clothes on him!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Saturday Ramblings « Family Mattos - March 24, 2012

    […] I’m really starting to regret learning that “lapneck trick” I wrote about earlier this week. It’s like I could hear Parker’s thought process, […]

Leave a Reply

