5! 6! 7! 8!

21 May

I cheered all four years of high school. I cheered all four years of college. I was a cheerleading summer camp instructor every summer throughout college. For the past three years I was an assistant cheer coach at a high school right now down the street from us. So I guess you could say I have a thing for cheerleading. Most people that meet me find this surprising because while I may be stereotypically blonde, I am not a loud, overly energetic person that you would assume the type of person who has had cheerleading in their life for the past 14 years would be. No one ever meets me and goes, “she totally was cheerleader.” In fact, while I’m perfectly fine performing in groups, I do not like the be the lone soul in front of a big group of people. But get me around my cheer friends and you can bet your glittery pom pons we’ll stunt and break out an 8 count dance or two. Friends wedding, 2 and a half years ago this happened:

20120521-081741.jpg

My senior year of college my sorority (yes, i also was a sorority girl – gasp!) had an informal called “When I Grow Up.” As the name implies, you dress up as what you hope your career or life will epitomize post college. Of course everyone dresses up to the extreme and some people just make up something to be funny, like my roommate who dressed as Monica Lewinsky because she idolizes Bill Clinton. Yes, I can’t believe I just typed that either. My costume was a way too enthusiastic “cheer mom.” I wore my child’s medals and a bow as big as my head, the back of my shirt said something about how much better my kid is than yours and I carried a doll that sang these ridiculously high squealed chants that I still have memorized. Flash forward 4 and a half years later and here I am posing with the trophy our high school squad just won at a cheer competition. Cheer coach and not cheer mom, but still I can’t believe I did it. I actually became who I jokingly dressed up as. Fake pregnant definitely looks better on me than real pregnant, but I won’t dawdle on that. And by the way, this was taken 3 days before P was born! Maybe all the chanting got him excited! 20120521-083447.jpg

So now that Parker is here I joke to Eric all the time about how I’m going to put him in dance classes so he can become a male cheerleader. Eric does not think it is very funny, in fact even if we have a daughter some day, we will be fighting about this. So I express how anti-cheerleader Eric is to say the other day I dressed Parker without thinking but immediately realized afterwards that his outfit reminded me of something. Reminded me of a certain uniform if you will. Caddy at golf club? No. Manager at a beach resort? No. Cheerleading camp instructor? Oh yes!

20120521-080121.jpg
I mean, I seriously almost changed him because I couldn’t take it. I couldn’t look at this outfit as anything other than him standing on stage getting the campers riled up over a rendition of “Boom Chicka Boom.” But instead of changing him, I took this as an opportunity to embarrass Eric because that’s what all good wives do. While I was really hoping to find the camp outfit that we wore that matches his (except the polo is sleeveless) I couldn’t find it anywhere….but I did find the uniform we would have to wear on the last day of every camp as we hand out awards, etc. I’m not sure if I’m more surprised that I found it or that it actually still fit. Either way a mini photo shoot was warranted.

20120521-082135.jpg

20120521-082433.jpg

But overall I think it’s safe to say he did not enjoy his 15 minutes of cheerleading. So Eric this round goes to you!

20120521-082725.jpg

Sorry Parker! Love you!

20120521-082925.jpg

4 Responses to “5! 6! 7! 8!”

  1. Abby R. May 21, 2012 at 10:21 am #

    Seriously laughing out loud at work reading this. Love it!

    • Melissa May 21, 2012 at 10:33 am #

      Yes, Gary should feel very lucky Eliza is a girl! Haha

  2. Diana Walpole May 21, 2012 at 8:40 pm #

    Haha, love this. Oh how I remember all your cheerleading days! And the competitions….girl after girl all lined up braiding (or curling) each others hair. I miss those days. So happy to see you in your uniform again!! And Parker, Mamaw says its ok to be a liftman if you want to!

  3. Shantelle May 21, 2012 at 11:35 pm #

    Obviously I LOVE this post! 🙂 Parker is the cutest little stunt-man I’ve ever seen. 😉

Leave a Reply

