Summer in the City

12 Jun

20120612-132457.jpg

20120612-132523.jpg

20120612-132541.jpg

20120612-132657.jpg

20120612-132843.jpg

20120612-132622.jpg

20120612-141256.jpg

20120612-132944.jpg

This summer our parks department has put together a great calendar of summer events. This is the first summer since moving here 4 years ago they have done this and I’m so excited! Last Thursday we went to an evening concert in the park (Parker’s first concert!) and today we (along with Aunt Jill) went to the first of their Kids Koncert series. Island Breeze was playing caribbean themed music and at one point they even had the limbo going on for the kids (maybe next year Park!) The weather was perfect and Parker, as you can see, really enjoyed it. Music and being outside are two of his favorite things so put them together and you have one happy camper. Can’t wait to attend the next one!

PS. Yes, P’s balding is turning a little Donald Trump-esque as you can see in the last pic!

6 Responses to “Summer in the City”

  1. Shantelle June 13, 2012 at 11:39 pm #

    Our favorite Children’s band is “Rhythm Child.” You and Parker should check them out. 🙂 They have some great tunes! We listen to it ALL the time and “Bowl of Cherries” is probably Canaan’s favorite song in the world!

  2. shoptheboutique June 15, 2012 at 5:48 pm #

    What type of camera do you use?

    • Melissa June 15, 2012 at 6:01 pm #

      I have a Nikon D3100. I invested last year before going on a trip to Italy and because I knew we were planning on having kids soon. I love it! Nice cameras definitely make a difference.

      • shoptheboutique June 15, 2012 at 6:11 pm #

        We have a Nikon D60 and have a little one on the way (any day now). Do you have any suggestions for online tutorials for getting nice shots like you take? Do you use a filter? You get really nice, soft, even and blueish tones.

      • Melissa June 16, 2012 at 11:43 pm #

        Congrats! That’s so exciting for you! For my camera I am mostly self taught. I just mess around with it a lot. I would love to attend a class so I can get better shooting manual though, I also just use the stock lens its came with and would like a better one. I have used The Pioneer Woman’s online photography tutorials, she usually uses pretty good layman’s terms to help you understand. For editing I just use a free app called Snapseed on my iPad. It has a lot of vintage filters that I like. Hope this helps! I’m sure you’ll get pretty good once your baby comes and you have a sweet subject to takes thousands of pictures of 🙂

Leave a Reply

