You Spin Me Right ‘Round

9 Sep

20120909-170240.jpg
You know how I’ve never done a nursery reveal? Yea, about that…I only had 2 DIY projects left to do before I was ready to consider the nursery finished and then Parker was born 10 days early and those projects got pushed WAY to the back burner. I’m really still wanting to do a nursery room rundown so I’ve decided it’s high time to get on these two projects already! So this weekend I finally tackled one of them – a pinwheel mobile for above his crib.

20120909-170425.jpg

20120909-170444.jpg
The funny thing about waiting to do this was that it actually only took me a couple hours to accomplish…oh well! I was inspired by these mobiles on Esty and while I think they are priced right (based on my experience of the work put in to making mine) I just didn’t want to spend that much on a mobile so I decided to try it myself. I used this pinwheel making tutorial and then just made up how to put the mobile together as I went.

20120909-170502.jpg

20120909-170517.jpg
So sorry, no real instructions since I was just trying to make one with as much material as I already had on hand and based on photos of other pinwheel mobiles I found on the web! I found the double-sided paper and brad’s at Michael’s, already had the yarn on hand and a friend had bought me the embroidery hoop when she was thrifting (for a mere .50!). So this project only cost me like $5 max. I also already had the hook I put on the ceiling to hang it.

20120909-170528.jpg
Parker was transfixed on it when I set him in the crib for the first time and when I turn on the ceiling fan they slowly spin and are even more mesmerizing! Since making this I’ve been slowly plotting on how I can incorporate pinwheels in other aspects of my decor (without creating my own mini wind farm mind you). Fall pinwheel wreath, mini pinwheel cupcake toppers, pinwheel holiday ornaments…the list could go on! Move over buntings & chevron everything, pinwheels are the next big thing!

7 Responses to “You Spin Me Right ‘Round”

  1. Lisa September 9, 2012 at 10:54 pm #

    It’s amazing! It looks perfect in there! Well done 🙂

  2. jayandjamielynn September 10, 2012 at 12:08 pm #

    Love this! Will have to try this one day when I have a chance. Hopefully before he outgrows his crib 🙂

  3. kris schroeder September 10, 2012 at 4:19 pm #

    I loved your pinwheel idea.

    On Sun, Sep 9, 2012 at 9:18 PM, Family Mattos

  4. pillowsalamode September 12, 2012 at 9:44 am #

    That is ADORABLE! I added a link to the P.S. in my recent baby mobile post. Thank you for the great idea! 🙂

    • Melissa September 12, 2012 at 10:46 am #

      Thank you! I appreciate the link! Love the other ideas you posted too!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Felt Baby Mobile « PILLOWS A-LA-MODE - September 12, 2012

    […] whites to match her nursery. It was so much fun to make!  P.S. Click here and here and here and here for four more cute mobiles. And if you’ve made one, please send me a link in a comment and […]

Leave a Reply

