8 Month Update

16 Oct

20121014-095542.jpg

On October 1st Parker turned 8 months old. From month 7 to month 8 he had many physical developmental strides…the biggest of which was crawling! We had to create an area in our basement we call “babyland” to contain him while I do work. Within a few days time he learned to first transition from laying down to sitting up to getting in the crawling position. Once he mastered that he almost immediately figured out how to pull up and was doing so continuously in his pack n play and crib. A few days later he started crawling and then right after that he was scaling the crib to get to whichever side he prefered (I call him my spider monkey) and he started bending over to pick up toys off the ground while one hand was still holding onto something for support – CRAZY!

20121014-095608.jpg

I couldn’t believe how quick it all happened. Now when we hold his hands and walk forward he will also take steps with us instead of us just dragging his feet along. Then one day he was supposed to be napping but instead was standing in his crib and he started jumping up and down on the mattress (like he was so proud at how defiant he was being) and so I took out my camera and started recording. In the middle of recording he started waving! At first I thought it was a fluke but then the more I waved back at him the more he would do it again.

20121014-095636.jpg

I included the video below. Sorry, it’s a little lengthy – I just got a excited since he hadn’t done it before and I caught it on video! He isn’t a pro at waving yet, in fact most of the time he does it randomly when he feels like it and not so much when prompted.


All these new skills unfortunately caused a regression in sleep. As soon as he would start to toss and turn he would sit up and then stand up and then be stuck (he’s not too graceful when it comes to sitting back down) and then start to cry. Before he was good at putting himself back to sleep since he would still be laying down. It was definitely frustrating since we were used to having such a good little sleeper. The bad night time sleep then transitioned to bad naps as well. Finally it got to the point where both naps were only 15-30 minutes long and I decided something needed to be done.

20121014-095714.jpg

I did some online and book research and decided to try to be more strict with his schedule and to put him to bed earlier. He was going to bed anytime between 8 and 9 and I changed it so he now goes to bed between 7 and 7:30 and then naps at 9am and 1pm. Honestly, I was surprised at how fast this schedule worked with his sleep cycle better. I thought babies would just get used to whatever time schedule you put them on, but apparently they have a mind of their own and don’t really care what schedule works better with your schedule 🙂

20121014-095750.jpg

So as soon as I implemented this new schedule he started sleeping all through the night again for 12 hours straight (7pm-7am) and each nap is now 1-2 hours long. So much better! For now (in case people are curious) at night he falls asleep while drinking his bottle and then I put him in his crib and for his naps I rock him to sleep (which takes only 10 minutes tops) and then move him to his crib. I used to be able to get him to fall asleep on his own in the crib, but now that he can sit up that doesn’t work. I know there will come a time when I need to just let him fall asleep on his own again, but for now this is quick and works and he stays asleep once he falls asleep.

20121014-095830.jpg

The hardest part is Eric and I getting used to him going to bed so early. We are always on the go and would just take Parker with us wherever, but now we really can’t make dinner plans unless it’s the senior citizen special at 5pm! But that’s ok because it’s much better for my sanity now that he is sleeping more scheduled.

20121014-095923.jpg

We still have no teeth! This kid almost needs his first haircut, yet still doesn’t have a single tooth. He is a great eater and so I’m ready for him to get some teeth so we can try more solid foods. I do a mixture of making my own and buying pre-made. He doesn’t refuse anything – but he is least excited about green vegetables – green beans in particular. Like most babies, he loves fruit and he loves sweet potatoes and squash. He now gets squealy and excited as soon as he sees I have taken out his spoon to be fed – he loves eating!

20121015-190405.jpg

This past month was also the first month I was more scheduled with feeding him 3 “meals” a day. Before it was kinda hit or miss how often I would feed him solids, but we have a legit breakfast, lunch and dinner now. Because of this he ended up dropping a bottle. He now drinks 4 (8) oz bottles a day. He still drinks solely breastmilk that I pump. I caught a cold near the end of September though and just like that my milk production dipped dramatically and so now I pump less than he eats and have to supplement with some of our frozen milk as well. Not sure how long the frozen will last! :/

20121014-100051.jpg

But with all this eating he is definitely a growing boy! Won’t get another official doctor weigh-in until next month, but based on my calculations this is where he stands (although I will admit when I weighed him he had just had a bottle and I think needed a diaper change, so it could be a little inflated, haha):

Weight: 19 lbs, 8 oz (last month 17 lbs, 6 oz)
Length: 29″ (last month 28.5″)
Head: 18″ (last month 17.75″)

He is in size 12-18 months for pajamas and pants and can fit in a wide variety for shirts (6 month and 9 months are the norm, though). He wears size 3 diapers and size 2 or 3 shoe, depending. We are in the market for a convertible car seat now because I’m starting to have to squish him into his infant seat – he’s just too long!

20121015-190449.jpg

Parker’s temperment is super laid back. He loves to people watch and is very curious. He is slow to upset and loves to be tossed up in the air and zoomed around our house like an airplane. He doesn’t show much, if any, separation anxiety. He will go to anyone and smile for anyone – which makes me really happy to see him make some strangers day when he easily gives them his huge grin. His favorite thing to do is just be out and about. He gets bored at home and so I try to leave the house at least once a day, whether for a walk or go grocery shopping or whatever. I have also joined a couple local mom groups so he can be around other babies every once in awhile – and so I can make some mom friends too! Can’t believe we are close to reaching the point where he has been outside my womb longer than he was in! Happy 8 months Parker!!

20121014-100019.jpg

And now for the regularly scheduled programming of his diaper count and outtakes. This photo shoot actually took 2 days because Parker was just too much on the go and I didn’t want to make him to do too much because as you can see in his “dislike” picture, he doesn’t like to be told to sit still! We also took a lot of photo shoot timeouts to pull everything off the bookshelf multiple times.

20121015-190516.jpg

This picture below cracks me up. I was setting up for his “stats” picture and was trying to adjust my camera for the lighting when he popped his head up and gave me a cute smile.

20121015-190548.jpg

Here is what our day-to-day looks like in his nursery. Pull the books off, I put them back on, he pulls them off again.

20121015-190622.jpg

That’s it! See you next month!

6 Responses to “8 Month Update”

  1. Lisa October 16, 2012 at 12:35 pm #

    Yay Parker! He is getting so big and doing so much — it’s crazy!! Love it. I want time to slow down so badly, but at the same time, I love all of the new things that are going on. It is such a fun stage. 🙂 Happy 8 months, big guy!

    • Diana Walpole October 17, 2012 at 5:29 pm #

      He is definitely changing day to day and oh so cute! Ok, so Mamaw and Papaw are a little prejudice!! I can’t wait to see a video of him crawling, better yet, I can’t wait for another visit with our little guy! Love you all! Mom

  2. jayandjamielynn October 18, 2012 at 1:53 pm #

    He is soooo adorable! Love that video! I love the fact that he’s only a couple weeks older than Lucas and they have so many of the same mannerisms/habits so I know what to look forward to haha. My guy is going through a sleep regression too cuz of all the new developmental milestones he’s hitting. We gotta take the bad with the good, huh?

    I’m curious as to how you’ve been able to keep up your supply since you’re exclusively pumping. I pump while I’m at work and nurse the rest of the time, but sometimes my supply is low and I have to dive into my precious freezer stash.

    Seems like you’ve been doing a great job keeping up with his feedings! He’ll be walking before you know it! Happy 8 months, Parker!

    • Melissa October 22, 2012 at 1:08 pm #

      Thanks! I know every time I read your updates I can’t believe all the similarities either! As for the pumping I think I just lucked out with having a good supply. I started exclusively pumping once he was 2 months and definitely didnt pump for every time he had a bottle like is recommended. I started out pumping 4x a day and then moved to 3x a day over the summer when I realized I still pumped the same amount at the end of the day (which for me was anywhere from 30-35 oz a day usually) It really wasn’t until I caught that cold that my supply suddenly dipped a lot and I had to start using the frozen. I only pump enough now for 2 of his bottles a day (he takes 4) so actually this week my frozen will be gone and I’m going to have to supplement with formula too. As long as I keep pumping enough for a couple bottles then ill stick with him having both bmilk and formula until he can have cows milk.

  3. kristine schroeder October 22, 2012 at 12:49 pm #

    I bet he will be walking by the time he is 10 months. Cute pictures. Glad the sleep schedule is working. Parents and babies neeed that routine.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 9 Month Update « Family Mattos - November 30, 2012

    […] the puffs. We have started to incorporate formula with the breast milk now. I know I mentioned last month that my supply suddenly dwindled (which I thought was just because I came down with a cold – […]

Leave a Reply

